Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I got an email from my sister today, asking when I would be posting my next blog entry. The first thing I thought was, “well, someone’s reading it, I guess.”

Then I wondered how it managed to be Wednesday already. The days seem to be passing by even faster lately, and I often wish there was a pause and rewind option. Maybe someday there will be an app for that.

First, let me get to the reason I started this blog in the first place. I guess the obvious reason was to keep myself accountable for my Weight Watchers and report my progress along the way (down 13.5# by the way). As for WW, it’s going pretty well. I do have to be honest and say this past week has been horrible as far as tracking my food intake. And I can tell. I had a couple of rough days and I’m back at it. So thankful for the great weather outside – it’s MUCH more motivating than cold, dark, gray, and rainy.

Yes, I started the blog as an accountability thing. But as I looked deeper into it, I think I needed to start this blog because it really forces me to sit down and reflect on what is happening in my life and the lives of those who I care about. When I sit down in front of the computer to write, I look back the days since my last post and really think about what excitement I’ve had, the good things that have happened, and then take the things that weren’t so good and figure out how to make any changes necessary to avoid them in the future. So I guess in some regard, this blog is like free therapy. And who doesn’t love a good weekly trip to the therapist?

The past few weeks, things have really picked up steam at work. GVSU is having an exceptionally busy year as far as events go. I just passed the 1 year mark in my job and I’ve been learning some things about myself, including the fact that I’m not as patient as I would like to be. Don’t get me wrong – I think as a general rule I am an extremely patient person. But when I get fixed on a vision, on an idea…I want it to happen YESTERDAY. So I’m practicing the art of patience. Baby steps. And when my desk looks like this, it’s time to step back and take a deep breath.

IMG_4295

One thing I am especially excited about is a workshop I am planning along with my dear friend Beth from Georgia Tech. Beth does at Georgia Tech what I envision myself doing for GVSU down the road, so she has been an INCREDIBLE mentor and support as I navigate this position I am in with trying to make the changes I want to make. She’s coming to GR for 3 days next month and I’m thrilled to get to spend time working with her and learning from her and ecstatic to show her around the city.

So. I titled this post “The Little Things.” I came up with it because in the midst of all the craziness, in between the 8:00 meetings and the deadlines and the time spent trying to keep up with everything… this last week we’ve been reminded once again to appreciate the little things in life. We truly need to remember to stop and smell the flowers…like these from my dear friend Jenn at Modern Day Floral & Events.

MDF

The little things to me are encouraging text messages from a friend…a few moments of laughter during a stressful day…catching up with a loved one you have not seen in a long time and then wondering why you put it off so long…

One of my favorite little things is escaping my office for my lunch hour to spend it with these my niece and nephew. That 45 minutes is just the burst of joy I need sometimes to rejuvenate myself for the afternoon.

IMG_4292

Another one of my favorites is taking time to write…for fun. I write a lot at work but I love when I can sit down with my laptop or even just pen and paper and write…a blog post, journal entry, or a letter. >Yes, I still use the Post Office<

What are the little things in life that make you smile? Are you making sure to take every opportunity you have to enjoy those things? I truly hope you take some time this weekend to stop, take a deep breath, and put the to-do list aside for even just a few minutes to do something that makes you happy.

Thanks for stopping by…and for reading. I appreciate it!

Warmly, Danielle

