Tags

, , , ,

(Note: I wrote my usual weekly update yesterday after my meeting…but today, everything I wrote seems irrelevant. I’ll be posting again soon. But because I know people want to know how I did, I’m down 1 more pound for a total of 11.6 pounds)

Today there was tragedy in Boston. Tragedy no one can explain.

Today there are families who have lost loved ones and are filled with sadness on a day that was supposed to be filled with celebration and accomplishment.

Today there are 2 more angels in Heaven…two people who woke up this morning just hoping to have a fun day at the Boston Marathon. One of those is an 8-year old. THIS makes me angry.

Today, hospitals are overwhelmed with patients who have devastating injuries. These people were there to run a race they’ve been training for, to cheer on a loved one who was going to reach a major milestone in their life, and giving up their time to volunteer and make sure this day was perfect for all those who were there to take part.

Today, I am sad. No, I did not know anyone personally who was there. But I, like so many others, feel a connection because this could happen anywhere. It’s sad, scary, and maddening.

But today I also know that God will give peace to all those who need it. He will wipe their tears. He will comfort the mourning. He will give strength to the injured, to their families, and to the doctors, nurses, police officers, firemen, paramedics…all those who are working together to help the city of Boston rest easy tonight and going forward. I know this because I have faith and I have experienced the Lord’s work.

I’ll leave you with this bit of scripture…and a reminder to never ever take anything or anyone for granted.

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells. God is within her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day. Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall; he lifts his voice, the earth melts. The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. Come and see what the Lord has done, the desolations he has brought on the earth. He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth. He breaks the bow and shatters the spear; he burns the shields with fire. He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress. (Psalm 46:1-11 NIV)

*Danielle Josephine*

